Inauguration of School Management Committee University of Ghana, Accra City Campus

A group picture of the new committee and university officials 

The University of Ghana, Accra City Campus inaugurated its School Management Committee (SMC) on Wednesday, 29 March 2017. This is in line with the Collegiate System adopted by the University of Ghana in the 2014-2015 academic year, which requires each school to have a Management Committee.

The Provost of the College of Humanities, Professor Samuel Agyei-Mensah in his speech to the members of the Committee recounted the adoption of the collegiate system by the University of Ghana, which today has necessitated the formation of SMCs by all schools. In reminding members of their responsibilities, he asked them to look at the issue of accommodation as one of their priority issues, which he said has led to the reduction in the number of students accepting admission to the UGACC.

He commended the Principal, Professor Alex Boakye Asiedu, and his team on the massive investment in infrastructure and the significant impact that the Accra City Campus has made on the University as a whole.

The Committee made up of thirteen (13) members is chaired by the Principal, Professor Alex Boakye Asiedu and has representation from Alumni, Industry, Schools in the Colleges of Humanities and Education, Staff and Students of the University of Ghana Accra City Campus.