College of Humanities Inaugurates International Research Committee

A group photo after the ceremony

The College of Humanities (COH) has recently inaugurated a fifteen-member team to organise the COH International Research Conference. The short ceremony was presided by the Provost of the College, Prof. Daniel Frimpong Ofori.

Delivering his welcome address, Prof. Godfred Alufar Bopkin, Chair, College of Humanities Research Board (CoHRB), expressed gratitude to members of the Committee. He indicated that the theme for the 2022 College of Humanities International Conference was dubbed “Inequality”. Prof. Bopkin said, the theme was timely and important, emphasising that “Covid-19 and its associated issues make the theme very essential as it fits the season”.

 Prof. Godfred Alufar Bopkin, Chair, College of Humanities Research Board (CoHRB)

Prof. Daniel Frimpong Ofori reiterated that the theme was beneficial and that the conference would be an opportunity for faculty members to present their research. He said “participation in the Conference feeds into the career progression of faculty members”. 

Prof. Ofori stressed that the conference was a good vehicle by which the college could showcase its activities to external stakeholders and international participants. 

In brief remarks, Mrs. Mavis Otoo-Ayeh, College Secretary, assured the Committee of the Secretariat’s support in offering the needed assistance for the Committee to function effectively.

The Chairman of the International Research Committee, Prof. William Baah-Boateng of the Department of Economics expressed appreciation to the Provost and the team. Prof. Baah-Boateng guaranteed that the Committee would serve the College and faculty diligently. 

Members of the Committee took turns to express their appreciation for the privilege to serve the College and further pledged their commitment to serve genuinely. 

Chairman of the International Research Committee, Prof. William Baah-Boateng

Members of the Committee include; Prof. Rose Mary Amenga-Etego, Co-Chair, Department for the Study of Religions; Dr. Issac Osei-Akoto, Co-Chair, ISSER; Dr. Kobby Mensah, University of Ghana Business School; Dr. Richmond Kwesi, School of Arts; Dr. Kwaku Osei-Tutu, School of Languages; Dr. Margaret Amankwah-Poku, School of Social Sciences, Dr. Joyce Osei-Owusu, School of Performing Arts; Dr. Eric Obodai Torto, Institute of African Studies; Dr. Pearl Kyei, Regional Institute for Population Studies; Dr. Mary Setrana Boatemaa, Centre for Migration Studies; Dr, Daniel Dramani Kipo-Sunyehzi, Legon Centre for International Affairs and Diplomacy; Dr. Abena Kyere, Centre for Gender Studies and Advocacy; Dr. Prince Kwame Adika, Language Centre; and Mr. Courage Asabagna, School of Law.

Present at the ceremony were Mr. Elisha Kyirem, Assistant Registrar, College of Humanities and Mr. Ronald Reagan Gyimah, Graduate Students Association of Ghana.