Intellectual Property Policy

The University Council approved the Intellectual Property Policy for use in 2014.

The policy objectives are to:

  1. Ensure that research, inventive or innovative technologies created by the University are transferred to industry for the development of beneficial and ethically acceptable processes, products and services;
  2. Offer equitable returns to the inventor(s) and University;
  3. Contribute to the social and economic development of Ghana.

Any related enquiries should be directed to the Pro-Vice Chancellor; Research, Innovation and Development.

Intellectual Property Policy_ Full policy

Intellectual Property Policy_ Abridged version

Intellectual Property Committee


The Committee comprises of the following persons;

  1. Professor John Gyapong                       -            Office of Research, Innovation and Development
  2. Professor Bedman Narteh                    -             University of Ghana Business School
  3. Professor Prosper Nude                        -            School of Graduate Studies
  4. Professor Perpetua Dadzie                   -            College of Education
  5. Professor Emmanuel Afoakwa             -            College of Basic and Applied Sciences
  6. Dr. Kwamena W. C. Sagoe                   -             College of Health Sciences
  7. Dr. Akua Anyidoho                                -             College of Humanities
  8. Mrs. Grace Issahaque                             -            Registrar General’s Department
  9. Mrs. Diana Adobea Owusu Antwi       -            Office of Research, Innovation and Development
  10. Ms. Akyaa Arhin                                     -            Office of the Legal Counsel
  11. Ms. Patricia Serwaa Afrifa                    -            Graduate Students’ Association of Ghana
  12. Mr. Kwasi Odame                                   -            Finance Directorate
  13. Mr. Allen Obeng Asare                          -            Student Representative Council