Inauguration of the University of Ghana Intellectual Property Committee


The Vice Chancellor, Professor Ernest Aryeetey has inaugurated the University of Ghana Intellectual Property Committee at a brief ceremony held at the University.

The Pro Vice Chancellor of Research, Inovation and Development, Professor John Gyapong highlighted the role of the Office of Research, Innovation and Development in identifying research with potential intellectual property and in taking steps to register, protect and commercialise intellectual property emanating from research at the University of Ghana. He stressed the need for researchers not to be quick in publishing their research findings as this could jeopardise the grant of protection for their intellectual property.

Professor Ernest Aryeetey in his address emphasised the increasing role of intellectual property and ethical issues in research. He identified these as key in view of the University’s mission of becoming a world class research intensive university within the next decade. He added the Intellectual Property Committee had been constituted in accordance with provisions in the University’s Intellectual Property Policy, to provide guidance on intellectual property emanating from research, innovative and creative activities at the University.

On the expectations of the Committee, Professor Aryeetey indicated the Committee is to make well informed decisions to facilitate the protection and / or commercialisation of intellectual property generated at the University of Ghana. He congratulated members of the Committee and expressed his appreciation to them for accepting to take on the role.

The members of the Intellectual Property Committee are as follows;

                 Name                                                        Representing Unit

  • Professor John Gyapong                 -         Office of Research, Innovation & Development
  • Professor Bedman Narteh               -         University of Ghana Business School
  • Professor Prosper Nude                  -         School of Graduate Studies
  • Professor Emmanuel Afoakwa         -         College of Basic and Applied Sciences
  • Professor Perpetua Dadzie              -         College of Education
  • Dr. Kwamena W.C. Sagoe                -         College of Health Sciences
  • Dr. Nana Akua Anyidoho                -         College of Humanities
  • Mr. Kwasi Odame                           -         Finance Directorate
  • Mr. Allen Obeng Asare                   -         Student Representative Council
  • Mrs. Akyaa Arhin                           -         Office of the Legal Counsel
  • Mrs. Diana A. Owusu Antwi           -         Office of Research, Innovation & Development.
  • Mrs. Grace Issahaque                    -         Registrar General's Department
  • Ms. Patricia Serwaa Afrifa              -         Graduate Students’ Association of Ghana

The Intellectual Property Committee will;

a)    Evaluate intellectual property disclosures and recommend the best mechanism for protection. The Committee may consult with other experts in the technical field concerned;

b)    Offer advice on the extent to which the University will support the development of an intellectual property;

c)     Recommend the conditions under which the University may renounce its intellectual property rights;

d)     Advise on the establishment of spin-out companies and the proportion of equity share to be contributed by the founders of the company;

e)     Facilitate the mediation of disputes concerning intellectual property;

f)     Perform other functions as required for the development of the University’s intellectual property.

Professor Perpetua Dadzie on behalf of members of the Committee expressed appreciation to the Vice Chancellor on their appointment. She assured the Vice Chancellor the Committee will give off its best in discharging its duties to promote innovation and creativity at the University of Ghana.

Front Row (L-R): Professor John Gyapong, Mrs. Grace Issahaque, Professor Ernest Aryeetey, Professor Perpetua Dadzie, Professor Emmanuel Afoakwa; Back Row (L-R): Professor Prosper Nude, Mrs. Diana A. Owusu Antwi, Professor Bedman Nartey, Mr. Kwasi Odame, Dr. Nana Akua Anyidoho.