Welcome by Head of Department

Welcome to the Department of Theatre Arts.

As the pioneer Theatre Arts institution in the country, we continue to maintain our supervisory role of the industry by extending our programmes to the many theatre companies and emerging training centres at sister universities in the country. We continue to produce graduates and post-graduates as a contribution to the human resource needs of the country in several sectors.
Our creative productions, seminars, conferences, workshops and scholarly works have created platforms for sharing ideas between practitioners, trainers and scholars.

The Department runs two undergraduate programmes – Bachelor of Arts (BA) and Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA). At the graduate level, we offer a Master of Fine Arts (MFA) or a Master of Philosophy (M.Phil) option in either Theatre Arts or Dance Studies. The latter option is in collaboration with the Department of Dance Studies. Areas of concentration are: Playwriting,
Theatre for Development, Directing, Drama in Education, Stage Design, Theatre Criticism, Costume Construction, Choreography, Dance in Education and Dance Ethnology.