The University of Ghana Debate Society will participate in the first ever virtual Pan African Universities Debate Championship (PAUDC) to be held from 14th to 20th December, 2020. The Championship dubbed Umoja Ni Nguvu in Swahili (Unity is Power) is a collaboration between the PAUDC Council, Makerere Debate Union and Royal Rhetorics.  
What is PAUDC?
PAUDC is the biggest intercollegiate debate championship on the African continent established in 2008 by the University of Botswana Debate Masters Association. It is a platform that affords students from all universities within the continent to discuss issues on Africa and beyond.
Team UG Preparation
Team UG made up of twelve (12) Speakers and five (5) Adjudicators commenced a two-week camping at the University of Ghana to sharpen their skills and bond ahead of the championship. The team seeks to enhance and consolidate their performance on the continent after representing the University in 2019 finals hosted by Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi.
The Debate Society participated in a number of championships virtually during the interruption of academic work as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic. Notable among them are the University of Ghana Debate Society Cup and the Accra Open Championship organised by Speech Forces in collaboration with University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa.
Coach Confident of Impressive Performance
Former Debate Society President of UG and Coach of the Debate Team, Mr. Lawrence Nii Kotey Neequaye, expressed his expectation ahead of the championship.
“I am happy with the enthusiasm of my speakers at training after a long break. The desire and commitment to excel in the championship to keep the momentum and improve on our performance on the continent is good news to me. I look forward to the debutants in the team to learn and claim a stake in the championship”
UG looks ahead to a stellar performance from the 2020 Best Public Speaker in the world, Kweku Agyepong Apreku as well as others such as Maureen Kyere, Akyaw Elisha Owusu and Sosi Theophilus.