University of Ghana Earns Off-Grid Energy Solution of The Year Award

Professor Boateng Onwona-Agyeman receiving the award on behalf of the University 

On 30th October 2020, the 4th Ghana Energy Awards event themed “Excelling in Crisis: The Energy Sector in a Covid-19 Era” was held at the Movenpick Ambassador Hotel. And the University of Ghana won the highly competitive Off-Grid Energy Solution of the Year award, given in recognition of the University’s relentless efforts to augment its energy supply through the adoption of off-grid solar solutions.

The Ghana Energy Award Scheme is an Industry-oriented initiative executed in partnership with the various government regulating agencies in the energy sector in Ghana. The award was instituted in November 2017 to recognise the hard work of industry practitioners and reward institutions for meritorious service to the country and its people. The awards event was organised by the Energy Media Group in collaboration with the CH-Business.

This achievement of the University, as well as other initiatives to drive down energy consumption through demand-side management, has been led by the Independent Power Supply Implementation Team (IPSIT). The team is one of eight strategic teams set up in 2016 by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Ebenezer Oduro Owusu, to drive his vision to position UG as the “go to University”. The mandate of the IPSIT team is to develop strategies for the establishment of an independent power supply source for the University and to raise funds for the project through external partnerships.

Professor Boateng Onwona-Agyeman presenting the award to the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Ebenezer Oduro Owusu

The award was received on behalf of the University by the Chairman of the Independent Power Supply Implementation Team, Professor Boateng Onwona-Agyeman.

Other members of the IPSIT team are Prof. Andrew Adjei, Prof. Thomas Akabzaa, Mr. Charles Kofinti, Prof. Olivia Anku-Tsede, Dr. Ebenezer Owusu, Mr. Michael Terkper and Mrs. Nortey. The external members include Dr. Nii Darko Asante, Energy Commission; Mr. Wisdom Ahiataku-Togobo, Ministry of Energy; Mr. Ebenezer Baiden and Ing. Adbul Quadir Aminu, Electricity Company of Ghana; Mr. Justin Amenuvor, Investment Lawyer; Dr. Joseph Asenso and Mr. Charles Owusu from the Ministry of Finance.


Read more about the awards at:

Click here to read more about the Independent Power Supply Team and on-going activities