University of Ghana Appeals Board Inaugurated

President and members of the Appeals Board in a group picture with officials of the University after the ceremony

The University of Ghana Appeals Board has been inaugurated at a brief ceremony which took place at the Council Chamber.

In her welcome address, Mrs. Mercy Haizel-Ashia, Registrar, said the University of Ghana Appeals Board was set up in accordance with Section 32 of the University of Ghana Act, 2010 (Act 806) and said the current Board is the second to be set up since the Act came into force. 

She introduced the President and members of the Board, namely Hon. Justice Dr. Seth Twum, a retired Supreme Court Judge as President, Mr. Justine Agbeli Amenuvor, Mrs. Yaa Onyameye Gyakobo, Rev Dr. Dora Bortey, and Dr. Joseph Jojo Baidu-Forson as members and Dr. Olivia Anku-Tsede, Legal Counsel as head of the secretariat of the Appeals Board

The Chairman of Council, Prof. Yaw Twumasi, in an address before swearing in the Board outlined the functions of the Board which he said was to hear and determine appeals from members of the University regarding acts or omissions in contravention of the University of Ghana Act and Statutes enacted by Council; breach of employment contracts by the University; the promotion of persons duly employed by the University; grievances by students against the University on matters related to welfare and discipline; and any other matter or dispute referred to the Appeals Board by the Council.  In the determination of cases, he said the Appeals Board’s task was to judge whether the legal or official decisions of the University are right or wrong.

Prof. Twumasi also urged the members of the Board to determine cases without fear or favour and in a just and honest manner.  He assured the Board of the University Council’s utmost support and said Council will provide the Board with the right environment to ensure a long and successful relationship.

Prof. Yaw Twumasi, Chairman of Council

Members of the Board then took their oath of office and secrecy administered by the Chairman of Council, Prof. Yaw Twumasi. 


Members of the Appeals Board being sworn into office

The President of the Appeals Board, Justice Dr. Seth Twum in brief remarks encouraged members of the Board to be dedicated as the task ahead of them was a daunting one. He further charged them to uphold the highest standards demanded of them.

 President of the Appeals Board, Justice Dr. Seth Twum

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Ebenezer Oduro Owusu in his congratulatory remarks, reminded the Board that their task was enormous since the size of the University was growing.  He tasked the Board to be fair and firm as well as lead a system in the University that will benefit the future generation. He promised management’s unflinching support to the Board in the discharge of their duties.

Prof. Ebenezer Oduro Owusu, Vice-Chancellor

Delivering the vote of thanks, Mrs. Stella A. Amoa, Director of Public Affairs expressed appreciation to the members of the board for availing themselves to serve the University in spite of their busy schedule.

Dr. Olivia Anku-Tsede later presented the President and Members of the Board with some documentation of the University, such as the Basic Laws, comprising the Act and Statutes, conditions of service, and rules and regulations of the University, among others.  They were also presented with University souvenirs.

Other officials present at the ceremony were Prof. Samuel Kwame Offei, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Academic and Student Affairs, Prof. Samuel Agyei Mensah, Provost, College of Humanities, Prof. Daniel Asiedu, Provost, College of Basic and Applied Science, Rev. Prof. Patrick Ayeh-Kumi, Provost, College of Health Sciences and Prof. Michael Tagoe, Ag. Provost, College of Education, Dr. Ibrahim Bedi, Acting Director, Internal Audit, and Mr. Kofi Saah Addison, member, Interim Management Team, Finance Directorate.