University of Ghana Anti-Corruption Committee Inaugurated

On 2nd June 2021, the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Ebenezer Oduro Owusu, inaugurated the University of Ghana Anti-Corruption Committee, modelled on the National Anti-Corruption Action Plan (NACAP), at the Great Hall of the University of Ghana, Legon.

In his opening remarks, the Vice-Chancellor disclosed that the establishment of the Anti-Corruption Committee was in furtherance of other policy reforms for the efficient and prudent management of the University introduced since the beginning of the 2016/2017 academic year. He added that the committee has the responsibility of addressing corruption issues pertaining to the University community. Prof. Oduro Owusu expressed his appreciation to the appointees for accepting the challenge and wished them well.

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Office of Research, Innovation and Development (ORID), Prof. Felix A. Asante, introduced the members of the Committee and spoke extensively about their works and profile. The five members of the Anti-Corruption Committee took an oath and were subsequently sworn in by the Vice-Chancellor.

On behalf of the Committee, the Chairman, Major George Sarpong, expressed gratitude for the opportunity to serve the University and promised to deliver on their mandate with the support of the University community.

The members of the Anti-Corruption Committee are Major George Sarpong (Chair), Dr. Francis Adzei, Prof. Matilda Steiner-Asiedu, Mrs. Beauty Emefa Narteh and Mr. Stephen Azantilow. The Office of Legal Counsel will serve as the secretariat for the Committee.