UGCS Committee Submits Final Report to Vice-Chancellor

Chairman and Members of the Committee in a pose with the former Vice Chancellor (centre) after the presentation of their final report.

(from left, Dr. John Effah, Mrs. Emelia Nartey, Prof. Olivia Kwapong, Professor Esther Sakyi-Dawson, Dr. Godfrey Mills and Dr. Sam Somuah)

The Committee for the Creation of the University of Ghana Computing Systems (UGCS), appointed by the former Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Ernest Aryeetey has submitted its final report. This is a follow-up to the interim report which was submitted to the former Vice-Chancellor, after the creation of UGCS, following which the Chief Information Technology Officer (CITO), his deputies, and Units Head all took up their appointments.

The creation of the UGCS was one of the several recommendations of the Visitation Panel which advocated the creation of one IT Directorate for the University of Ghana. Prof. Sefah Dedeh’s committee, acting on the recommendation of the Visitation Panel, further recommended the creation of UGCS out of the three (3) pre-existing IT Units within the University.

The committee for the creation of UGCS in its work developed a new Organizational chart for UGCS which was subsequently approved by the Council.

Mr. Lucas Chigabatia is the Chief Information Technology Officer (CITO) of UGCS. There are three Deputy Chief Information Technology Officers namely, Mr. Francis Boachie (Infrastructure), Mr. Solomon Dartey (IT Services) and Mr. Frederick Kwakye Maafo (IT Planning, Security and Support).

Other Unit Heads appointed through the new organizational chart are the following: Mr. Emmanuel Togo (Network Administration), Mr. Kwaku Owusu Osei (System Administration), Mr. Evans Sarfo Adu (Telecom and Electricals), Mr. Barfi Adomako Owusu (Academic Computing), Mr. Alfred Quartey (Administrative Computing), Mr. Patrick Kuti (IT Services and Engineering), Mr. Benjamin Cobblah (IT Planning and Security), and Ms. Ama Dadson (End User Support).

The Committee in presenting its final report thanked the former Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Ernest Aryeetey, for the opportunity to serve the University. The committee members were: Dr. Sam Somuah (Chairman), Prof. Esther Sakyi Dawson (Member), Prof. Olivia Kwapong (Member), Dr. John Effah (Member), Dr. Godfrey Augustus Mills (Member), and Mrs. Emelia Nartey (Secretary).