UG Pharmacy Graduate Tops Professional Qualifying Examinations

Ms. Hinneh (right), receiving her award from the Minister of Health Madam Sherry Ayittey. Looking on are Mr. David Anim Addo, Chairman of the Pharmacy Council (left) and Prof. Sackeyfio, Founding Dean, of the University of Ghana School of Pharmacy (in the background)


Ms. Josephine Ataa Hinneh, a Pharmacy graduate of the University of Ghana, has been awarded the John Ocran Award for being the overall best candidate in the 2013 Ghana Pharmacy Professional Qualifying Examinations at the Induction ceremony for 205 newly qualified and registered Pharmacists. In addition, she received the Pharmacy Practice Award.

The ceremony which was organized by the Pharmaceutical Council of Ghana saw the induction of the first batches of Pharmacy graduates from University of Ghana and the Central University College as well as those from the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology. The ceremony which took place at the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Ridge, Accra was on the theme, ‘Advancing Pharmaceutical Care in Contemporary Ghana-Public Expectations’’.

In her remarks, Miss. Hinneh, on behalf of her colleagues, thanked their Lecturers and all who supported them during their internship period. She dedicated her award to her parents for their support and thanked her colleagues with whom she shared ideas during their years of study.

Description: G:\DSC_3369.JPG

Prof. Arthur Commey Sackeyfio, Special Guest of Honour

The Special Guest of Honour for the occasion, Prof. Arthur Commey Sackeyfio, Founding Dean, of the University of Ghana School of Pharmacy, encouraged the inductees to go beyond the skills acquired from school and make the patient the focus in their practice. He advised them to consider forming partnerships as a means of pooling resources for the establishment of viable companies, instead of getting bank loans which attract huge interests.

Description: G:\DSC_3385.JPG

Madam Sherry Ayittey, Minister of Health

In her keynote address, the Minister of Health, Madam Sherry Ayittey challenged the inductees not to rest on their success but to continue to strive towards greater goals. She further urged them to be mindful of the evolving trends in Pharmacy practice which now goes beyond supplying pharmaceutical products to provision of services and information.

Earlier in programme, the Registrar of the Pharmacy Council, Mr. Joseph Nyoagbe delivered welcome remarks.

The Chairman of Pharmacy Council, Mr. David Anim Addo administered the Apothecary’s Oath to the inductees after which certificates and awards were presented. In attendance were representatives of various pharmacies across the country, University authorities, members of the Pharmacy Council, stakeholders and guests of the inductees.

The University of Ghana School of Pharmacy (UGSOP), established in 2007 admitted its first batch of students in 2008, who graduated in 2012 with a Bachelor of Pharmacy Degree. Of the 34 students who enrolled into the Pharmacy programme, some deferred with 31 graduating. The 31 graduates registered and sat for the professional exams conducted by the Pharmacy Council in December 2013 and recorded a 100% pass.

The University of Ghana is proud of their achievement and wishes them the best in their Pharmacy career.

Description: G:\DSC_3641.JPG

The first batch of UG Pharmacists in a group photograph with Prof. Alexander Nyarko, Ag. Dean of the UG School of Pharmacy (extreme right), Prof. Arthur Commey Sackeyfio, Founding Dean, of the UG School of Pharmacy (middle) and Mrs. Bernice Tamakloe, Assistant Registrar, UG School of Pharmacy(third from left)