Prof. Amfo Inaugurates Anti-Sexual Harassment Committee

The Vice–Chancellor, Prof. Nana Aba Appiah Amfo with the Committee Members

The Vice–Chancellor, Prof. Nana Aba Appiah Amfo has inaugurated a 15-member Anti-Sexual Harassment Committee to address issues of sexual harassment and misconduct in the University. The Committee, which has been given a period of two years to discharge its duties, is mandated by the Anti-Sexual Harassment Policy which is central to the execution of the objective of the Committee.

Prof. Amfo, in her speech, outlined the objectives of the policy which include taking relevant steps to prevent sexual harassment and abuse in the University; responding promptly and effectively to reports on sexual harassment and abuse in the University and administering appropriate disciplinary measures to people who violate the policy. She also charged the Committee with the responsibility of education and training, documentation, reporting, investigations and sanctions.

The Vice-Chancellor urged the Committee to put considerable effort into preventing individuals in the University from being victims of sexual harassment and abuse. “The prevention is only possible when people are aware of what constitute sexual harassment and sexual abuse. Prevention, I reckon, is always less expensive than waiting for the thing to happen and then trying to remedy the situation. Sometimes the reputational damage that comes is difficult to repair’’, she stated. She urged the Committee not to work in isolation but to comply with other necessary rules and regulation.

The Registrar, Mrs. Emelia Agyei-Mensah, in brief remarks urged the Committee to spread their tentacles beyond the main campus. She appealed to the Committee to ensure that their work benefits members at other campuses including the two new City Campuses at Takoradi and Kumasi.

Prof. Margaret Amoakohene, Chairperson of the Committee, encouraged the Committee members to be keen on getting acquainted with the Sexual Harassment Policy to be equipped well enough to train others with respect to their responsibilities.

Members of the Committee are Dr. Enid Owusu, Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences; Dr. Angela A. Gyasi-Gyamera, Department of Psychology; Prof. Olivia Anku-Tsede, Legal Counsel; Dr. Deborah Atobrah, Director, Center for Gender Studies and Advocacy; Dr. Gladys Setordzie, Careers and Counselling Center; Dr. John K. Ganle, Senior Lecturer, Center for Public Health; Dr. Abena A. Yeboah–Banin, Head, Department of Communication Studies; Dr. Abdallah Ali-Nakyea, Senior Lecturer, School of Law; Prof. Nana Akua Anyidoho, Director, Center for Social Policy Studies and Madam Ama Pinkrah Sowah, Secretary, Office of the Legal Counsel.

The other members of the Committee are Mr. Emmanuel Dowuona Godwyll, Representative of Ghana Association of University Administrators (GAUA), Mr. Albert Sewodo, Representative of Teachers and Educational Workers’ Union (TEWU), Mr. Fotress Yaw Adika, Representative of Federation of University Senior Staff Association of Ghana, Ms. Judy Amenyoto, SRC Representative; Mr. Joseph Baidoo, GRASAG Representative.