College of Humanities Holds Maiden Awards Ceremony

A group photograph featuring UG officials, sponsors and award recipients

The College of Humanities has held its maiden awards ceremony to honour 34 members of staff and some academic units of the College, for their meritorious service and dedication to the growth and development of the College.

In an opening statement, the College Secretary, Mrs. Mavis Otoo-Ayeh, welcomed all attendees and lauded the Provost for his foresight in instituting the awards scheme

Declaring the purpose of the gathering, the Provost, Prof. Daniel Frimpong Ofori, said the College of Humanities, which is the largest of the University of Ghana’s four colleges, was established in 2014 with the following objectives: to create synergy for interdisciplinary teaching, learning and research in the Arts, Social Sciences, Business and Law; to provide faculty and students with skills in its various fields to contribute to the developmental needs of the country, while establishing and promoting international networks in the Arts, Social Sciences, Business and Law, as well as to enhance the sharing of human, financial and material resources. 

Provost, College of Humanities, Prof. Daniel Frimpong Ofori

He intimated that employee recognition in all forms was a critical ingredient in the College’s performance management system and constitutes a key pillar of its existence. It is for this reason that the maiden awards event was being held to recognise and reward the efforts of staff and units within the College who had exhibited exemplary behaviour and performance over the period of its existence, and worked tirelessly to achieve the vision of the University of Ghana by actualising the objectives of the College. He further commended the leadership of the University of Ghana for supporting the College over the years. While congratulating all awardees for their achievements, the Provost urged them to continue to work hard to maintain the standards that they had set.

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor in charge of Academic and Student Affairs, Prof. Gordon A. Awandare, who chaired the event on behalf of the Vice-Chancellor, commended the College of Humanities for taking the staff awards scheme in the University of Ghana to “another level”. He applauded the College for successfully planning and organising the maiden awards ceremony, which he said would motivate others to work harder to achieve recognition within the University.   

Pro-Vice-Chancellor in charge of Academic and Student Affairs, Prof. Gordon A. Awandare

Awardees at the event included the former and premier Provost of the College of Humanities, Prof. Samuel Agyei-Mensah, who received a meritorious award for steering the affairs of the then newly formed College from August 2014 to July 2020. The first and current College Secretary, Mrs. Mavis Otoo-Ayeh, who has held the position since August 2014, also received an award for meritorious service. Thirty-two other individuals and units within the college also received awards on the day. The Units honoured were, the Office of the Dean, School of Languages; the Office of the Dean, School of Arts; and the Office of the Director, Institute of African Studies, who were adjudged the Most Responsive Units in the College

A cross-section of guests at the award ceremony

Present at the awards ceremony were Mrs. Emelia Agyei-Mensah, Registrar; Prof. Samuel Nii Ardey Codjoe, Provost, College of Education; Mrs. Bernice Agudu, Director of Finance; and Mrs. Lydia Nyarko-Danquah, Director, Academic Affairs. Also present were Deans and Directors of other units within the College and the University, as well as the event sponsors, a cross-section of faculty and staff of the various units and other well-wishers.  The maiden college awards ceremony was held on Friday, November 4, 2022, at the ISSER Conference Facility, University of Ghana, Legon. The programme was sponsored by the Transsion Group, owners of the Tecno, Infinix and Itel brands; Promasidor Ghana Limited, producers of Cowbell milk; Tasty Tom Ghana Limited, Nutrifoods and Unilever PLC, manufacturers of fast-moving consumer products. 


Please click on the following link to view the brochure which contains the full list of awardees