College of Health Sciences Advisory Board Inaugurated

Members of the newly inaugurated Board in a group photograph with University Officials and some Senior Members of the College

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Ernest Aryeetey has inaugurated a thirteen-member Advisory Board for the College of Health Sciences.

In brief remarks at the inauguration ceremony, Prof. Aryeetey noted that with the increasing number of students and staff, the University saw the need to decentralize its administrative and management processes in order to achieve greater efficiency and timeliness in decision making. He added that with the existence of the College of Health Sciences for the past fifteen years, the University decided to go fully collegiate on 1st August, 2014.

Prof. Aryeetey described the Board as a carefully selected one, made up of members who could bring their diverse ideas, expertise and capabilities to bear on the activities of the College. While thanking the members of the Board for accepting to serve the College, Prof. Aryeetey appealed to them to openly put forward their ideas at the disposal of the College for its advancement.

The Chairman of the Advisory Board, Mr. Martin Eson-Benjamin, who is the immediate past Chief Executive Officer of the Millennium Development Authority, thanked the Vice Chancellor and the University Council for recognizing that the members had something good to offer the University of Ghana. He gave the assurance that the confidence reposed in them by the University would be justified so that they would have something to show at the end of their term of office.

Other members of the Board are Prof. Yao Tettey, Provost, CHS; Prof. Kwadwo Koram, Director of Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research (NMIMR), representing CHS Academic Board; Paa Kwasi Yankey, representing University Council; Dr. Edem Hiadzi, Consultant Obstetrician/ Gynaecologist, Fertility Specialist and CEO/ Founder of Lister Hospital and Fertility Centre, representing alumni; Mr. Jerry Quaye, representing Students; and Mr. Dominic Gyamfi, representing junior and senior staff of the College.

The others are Mr. Gustav Wisdom Kwasi Siale, Managing Director of Ghana Reinsurance Company Ltd; Mr. Kojo Fynn, Administrator of District Assemblies Common Fund; Mr. Kojo Addae-Mensah, CEO of Databank Group; Mrs. Frances Adu-Mante, immediate past Managing Director of EB-Accion Savings & Loans Co. Ltd; Dr. Fanella Elizabeth Avokey, Public Health Physician and WHO Consultant; and Mrs. Mildred Caesar, Group HR and Administrative Manager of the UBI Group/ Puma Energy (Oil and Gas).

The statutory functions of the College Advisory Board are to guide the College in developing strategies, receive proposals from Management Committees of Schools, assist in fostering effective links between the College and external communities, help to maintain and enhance the image and reputation of the College and advise on the relevance of the College in order to enhance its sustainability.

Present at the ceremony were the Pro-Vice Chancellor (ASA), Prof. Kwame Offei, the Registrar, Mrs. Mercy Haizel-Ashia, the Director of Public Affairs, Mrs. Stella A. Amoa, College Secretary for the College of Health Sciences, Mrs. Amma K. Kwaa and the Deans/Directors of the constituent units of the College.