CBAS Holds Meritorious Awards Ceremony

On 9th July 2021, the College of Basic and Applied Sciences (CBAS) held its maiden awards ceremony to recognize past and present faculty and office-holders whose commitment, hard work and distinguished services contributed to the birth of CBAS on 1st August 2014 and continue to contribute to the growth and development of CBAS and the University of Ghana.

In his welcome address, Prof. Daniel Asiedu, Provost of CBAS, indicated that the ceremony was an opportunity to celebrate those, past and present, who have made remarkable contributions towards the realisation of the vision and mission of the College. He was hopeful that the event would motivate others within the College to give off their best.

In her opening remarks, Prof. Rose Emma Mamaa Entsua-Mensah, Chairperson of the College Advisory Board, who also chaired the ceremony, urged past and present members of the scientific community to work together to produce new knowledge and innovations that will guide and inform public policy. She also urged the need for older academics to mentor early career faculty, since the University’s continuity depends on it. She ended by congratulating the awardees and commending the College Advisory Board for instituting the awards scheme.

All the awardees were presented with plaques embossed with a message of appreciation, to constantly remind them of the College’s appreciation of their outstanding services.

The following received awards in recognition of their outstanding services to the College and the University, namely, Professors Yaa Ntiamoa-Baidu, George Kwame Aning, Eric Yirenkyi Danquah, Bruce Kofi Banoeng-Yakubo, Chris Gordon, and Gordon Awandare, who, in addition, received a citation for his leading role in the fight against the COVID-19 pandemic in the country.

Former Provosts, Deans, and Directors of Agriculture who were awarded included Professor Benjamin Kwadwo Ahunu, Provost, College of Agriculture and Consumer Sciences, CACS (2006-2011) and Dean, School of Agriculture (1990-1996, 1999-2002); Professor Samuel Kwame Offei, Provost, CACS (2011-2013) and Dean, School of Agriculture (2006-2011); Professors Emmanuel Victor Doku (1981-1986), Daniel Obeng-Ofori (Acting), 2005-2006)), and John Ofosu-Anim (2011-2016), Deans of the Faculty/School of Agriculture; Professors Kwame Afreh-Nuamah (2005-2006 & 2009-2012) and Macarius Yangyuoru (2012-2014), Directors of the Institute of Agricultural Research.

Former Provosts, Deans, and Directors of Science awarded included Prof. Ebenezer Oduro Owusu, current Vice-Chancellor, who served as Vice-Dean, Faculty of Science (2010-2012), Dean, School of Biological Sciences (2014), and Provost of CBAS (2014-2016); Professors Ivan Addae-Mensah (1993-1996); Josef K. A. Amuzu (1996–1998); William Asomanin (1998-2004); George Tawiah Odamtten (2004-2006); and Daniel Kwadwo Asiedu (2009-2016), Deans of the Faculty of Science. Professor Matilda Steiner-Asiedu, Dean of the School of Biological Sciences (2015-2019), Prof. Robert Kingsford-Adaboh, Acting Dean, School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences (2016-2019), Professors Samuel Sefa-Dedeh (2004-2006; 2006-2011 & 2015-2016), Richard Jinks Bani (2011-2014), Deans of the School of Engineering Sciences; Professors Sammy Tawiah Sackey (2012-2016), Boateng Onwona-Agyeman (Acting), February 2016 - July 2016)), and David Dodoo-Arhin (Acting), August 2016 – December 2016)), Directors of the Institute of Applied Science and Technology (IAST).

Former Registrars of CACS also received awards, namely: Mr. Miguel Francois Ribeiro (2005 – 2007), Mrs. Grace Aboagye-Mensah (Acting) 2007–2008)), Mr. Joseph Marfo Budu (2008 – 2009), Mr. Emmanuel Baidoo (Acting) 2009 – 2010)), and Mr. Peter Bennet Yarquah (2010 – 2013).

On behalf of the awardees, Prof. Ivan Addae-Mensah and Prof. Gordon Awandare took turns to express appreciation to the College Advisory Board and the organisers of the ceremony for the honour done them. Prof. Addae-Mensah used the occasion to call on the University Management to institute measures to help chronicle the historical achievements of members of the various colleges, schools and departments since “a nation that does not honour its heroes is not worth dying for.”

The Ghana Dance Ensemble provided interludes of cultural performances. The Rev. Prof. Patrick Ayeh-Kumi, Provost of the College of Health Sciences, said the closing prayer after which the awardees interacted with their families, friends, well-wishers and University officials, including but not limited to the Pro Vice-Chancellors, and Provosts.