Brief History

The Department of Political Science was established in the 1961/1962 academic year with only three Ghanaians among a total teaching staff of seven. Until then, during the period of the University of Ghana’s affiliation to London University, a course in Government was taught in other departments. The numerical strength of Ghanaians increased over time as young graduates of the University College of Ghana who travelled for further training abroad started joining the academic staff of the new department. Within a few years of the establishment of the Department, Political Science grew to be one of the most popular disciplines in the University of Ghana. The problem of student numbers, which to this day, continues to plague the Department, has been in existence since the1963/1964 academic year. Unlike in the past there has been a corresponding growth in the academic staff both at the level of lecturers and teaching assistants.

At the undergraduate level the Department offers a 4-year BA Political Science programme. The Department is accordingly able to offer a wide range of courses in Development Studies, Comparative Politics, Public Administration, Public Policy, International Relations/Politics, Political Theory, Research Methods, and Politics and Development in Africa/Ghana. The degree in Political Science enables students to function in several areas of the Ghanaian economy and globally. Generally, the degree prepares students for public sector management/public administration, diplomatic service, non-profit work, law school, private sector work, and among others.



The department has twenty-two (22) active faculty members with various areas of relevant expertise who will be able to competently steer the undergraduate programme in terms of teaching, research, and supervision of the dissertation writing.   


Maame Adwoa Appiaah Gyekye-Jandoh -  Senior Lecturer 

BA (Ghana), MA, PhD (Temple)  (Head of Department) 

Kwame Akon Ninsin  -  Emeritus Professor 

BA (Ghana), PhD (Boston) 

Joseph R.A. Ayee -  Professor 

BA, MPA (Ghana) PhD (Heb. Uni. of Jerusalem) 

Kwame Boafo-Arthur -  Professor 

BA (Ghana), MA (Carleton), PhD BL (Ghana) 

LLB (Barrister-at-Law) (Ghana) 

Abeeku Essuman-Johnson -  Associate Professor 

BA, MA, PhD (Ghana) 

Emmanuel Debrah -  Associate Professor 

BA, MPhil, PhD (Ghana) 

Ransford Edward Gyampo -  Associate Professor 

BA, MPhil, PhD (Ghana) 

Kumi Ansah-Koi -  Senior Lecturer 

BA, MA (Ghana), PhD (Ghana), 

Dip. in Conflict Resolution (Uppsala), 

Alexander Kaakyire Duku Frempong -  Senior Lecturer 

BA, MPhil (Ghana) 

Steven Kofi Mensah Ahiawordor -  Senior Lecturer 

BA, MPhil (Ghana), BL 

Bossman E. Asare (on leave) -  Senior Lecturer 

BA (Ghana), MA (Ohio), PhD (West Virginia) 

Seidu Mahama Alidu -  Senior Lecturer 

BA (Ghana), MSc (LSE & Pol. Sci.), 

PhD (Leeds Met. Univ.) 

Abdulai Kuyini Mohammed -  Senior Lecturer 

BA (Ghana), MPP (Brunei), Dip (Int. Bus) 

(Oslo), MPA (Agder), PhD (Tasmania) 

Isaac Owusu-Mensah – (on leave) Senior Lecturer 

BA, MPhil, PhD (Ghana) 

Kwame Asah-Asante -  Senior Lecturer 

BA, MPhil, PhD (Ghana) 

Evans Aggrey-Darkoh  (on leave) -  Senior Lecturer 

BA, MPhil, PhD (Ghana) 

Lloyd Amoah - Senior Lecturer 

BA, MA (Ghana) PhD (Wuhan) 

Hassan Wahab -  Senior Lecturer 

BA (Ghana) BA (Winnipeg) MA (Guelph) 

MA, PhD (Indiana-Bloomington) 

Iddi Ziblim -  Lecturer 

BA (Hons) (Ghana), MIAD, PhD (Clark Atlanta) 

Nene-Lomotey Kuditchar -  Lecturer 

BA, MPhil, PhD (Ghana) 

Rosina Foli - Lecturer 

BA, MPhil (Ghana), PhD (Saskatchewan) 

Charles Amo Agyemang – 

BA, MPhil (Ghana) PhD (Finland) Lecturer 

Emmanuel Yeboah-Asiamah - Lecturer 

BA, MPhil (Ghana) PhD (Stellenbosch)  

Abdul-Jalilu Ateku – Lecturer 

BA, MPhil (Ghana) PhD (Nottingham)              

Akpeko Agbevade -  Lecturer 

BA, MPhil, PhD (Ghana) 

Paul Acheampong Boakye  Lecturer 

BA, MPhil (Ghana) MA, PhD (Saskatchewan)