University of Ghana Council Sworn into Office

Chairman and Members of Council being sworn in at the ceremony

A 16-member Council for the University of Ghana was yesterday inaugurated by the Hon. Minister of Education at a brief swearing-in ceremony at the Conference Room of the Ministry of Education.


The Council is composed of the following:




Professor Yaw Twumasi

Chairman of Council

Professor Ebenezer Oduro Owusu     


Dr. Ama Essel

Government Appointee

Professor Akua Kuenyehia

Government Appointee

Professor Yaa Ntiamoa-Baidu

Government Appointee

Professor Baffour Agyeman-Duah

Government Appointee

Professor Mohammed Salifu

NCTE Representative

Mr. Kwesi Yankey

Alumni Association Representative

Ms. Anastasia Thomford Okyere

CHASS Representative

Dr. Max Price

Vice Chancellor of an African University

Professor Kodzo Gavua

Convocation Member

Mrs. Cynthia Adu

Convocation Member

Mr. Daniel Otting Awuah

SRC Representative

Mr. Eric Oyemam Ato Brown

GRASAG Representative

Dr. Harry Agbanu

UTAG Representative

Mr. Kenneth Botchway

TEWU Representative


We wish the new Council under the chairmanship of Prof. Yaw Twumasi, a successful tenure.


Members of council after the swearing in ceremony

Prof. Yaw Twumasi interacting with the President of the SRC after the ceremony