Inauguration of University of Ghana Audit Committee

A group photograph after the inauguration of the University of Ghana Audit Committee

A five-member team has been sworn in as the University of Ghana Audit Committee.  The brief ceremony which was presided over by the Director General of the Internal Audit Agency (IAA), Mr. Ransford Agyei was attended by University officials and staff of the University’s Internal Audit Directorate.

Members of the Committee are Mr. Abdul Karim Hatsu, and Mr. Daniel Kofi Quampah, both representatives from the Internal Audit Agency (IAA) and Mr. Emmanuel Ofosu Offei, from the Institute of Chartered Accountants (Ghana). Two members of the University Council are to be nominated to serve on the committee.

The Committee’s term of office is for a two-year period, renewable for another two-year term.

In his introductory remarks, the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Ebenezer Oduro Owusu welcomed and thanked members of the Audit Committee for accepting the onerous role.  While calling on the members to discharge their duties well, he assured them of management’s utmost support and cooperation.  He also called on the Committee to be firm, sincere and honest in their line of work.

The Director General of the Internal Audit Agency (IAA), Mr. Ransford Agyei who delivered the Keynote Address, administered the oath of office and oath of secrecy to the members.  He admonished the members on the need for confidentiality and to ensure that information they come across in the course of their work is handled professionally.  He said as a problem-solving Committee, the Committee should ensure they champion integrity, secrecy, objectivity, transparency and accountability by focusing on both financial and operational issues of the University.  He congratulated them on their appointment and wished them well.

Mr. Ransford Agyei, Director General, IAA

Earlier, Mr. Abdul Karim Hatsu, was elected Chairman of the University of Ghana Audit Committee, by his colleagues as statutorily required.   In his acceptance remarks, he said he was hopeful that his team would provide valuable insight, guidance and the needed support to the Vice-Chancellor and management of the University.  He called on all to support the team.

External members of the Audit Committee taking the Oath of Office.  The Chairman, Mr. Abdul Karim Hatsu in the middle.

The ceremony was attended by the Registrar, Mrs. Mercy Haizel-Ashia, the Director of Public Affairs Directorate, Mrs. Stella A. Amoa, the Director of Finance Directorate, Mr. Richard O. Boapea, the Acting Director of Internal Audit Directorate, Dr. Ibrahim Bedi, Mr. Michael Opare Atuah, College Secretary, College of Health Sciences and other officials from the Finance and Internal Audit Directorate.

The Audit Committee, following the pronouncement of the Public Financial Management Act, 2016 (Act 921), comes to replace the University’s Audit Report Implementation Committee (ARIC), which was charged with the responsibility of ensuring that the University carried out all recommendations by its external auditors.

Prof. Ebenezer Oduro Owusu (right) presenting University publications and backgrounders to

Mr. Ransford Agyei (left)