Emerita Professor Isabella Akyinbah Quakyi Awarded The 2019 Clara Southmayd Ludlow Medal

Photo with ASTMH President Professor Chandy John congratulating Emerita Professor Isabella A. Quakyi

Emerita Professor Isabella A. Quakyi of the Department of Biological, Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences of the School of Public Health, College of Health Sciences, University of Ghana, has been awarded the 2019 Clara Southmayd Ludlow Medal by the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene.

The Clara Southmayd Ludlow Medal is a prestigious award that was created in 2017 by the America Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (ASTMH) in honor of a female scientist who is an icon of research in Tropical Medicine. It is said that Clara Southmayd Ludlow’s thirst for knowledge was positively inspirational.

It is noteworthy that the first recipient of the Medal is Professor Ruth S. Nussenzweig, MD, PhD, a most distinguished scientist whose extraordinary contributions forever changed malaria vaccine research. Recipients of this Medal are nominated and the medal is awarded to the recipient by a Presenter of their choice, almost invariably a celebrated scientist. The Presenter highlights significant research contributions by the awardee in a power point presentation.

The award was conferred on Emerita Professor Isabella A. Quakyi at the 68th Annual Meeting of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (ASTMH) at the Gaylord Hotels Convention Centre, Washington DC, USA, on November 20, 2019, before an audience of its 5000 researchers in Tropical Medicine and Global Health. The Presenter was Professor Michael F. Good MD, PhD, AO.

Professor Isabella A. Quakyi giving an acceptance speech

Isabella A. Quakyi, PhD, FGA, FAAS, is an Emerita Professor of Immunology and Parasitology, a health researcher and Public Health Practitioner. Her research and teaching over the past four decades focused on malaria immunity, immunoepidemiology, immunopathology, immunodiagnosis, autoimmunity, molecular immunology and vaccine development. Research on malaria and concomitant infection with measles and HIV/AIDS has had equal attention.

A congratulatory note from ASTMH President Professor Chandy C. John and ASTMH CEO Karen A. Goraleski states - “The Society is very proud to recognize your work. You have offered important contributions to the understanding and control of tropical diseases. Congratulations again on this impressive professional achievement - and your continuing work on behalf of people in need throughout the world. ASTMH congratulates you on this well-deserved award.”