Appeals Board

The University of Ghana Appeals Board was set up in accordance with Section 32 of the University of Ghana Act, 2010 (Act 806).

The Appeals Board is to hear and determine appeals from members of the University regarding the following matters:

  •  Acts or omissions in contravention of the University of Ghana Act and Statutes enacted by Council;
  •  Breach of employment contracts by the University;
  • The promotion of persons duly employed by the University;
  •  Grievances by students against the University on matters related to welfare and discipline; and
  • Any other matter or dispute referred to the Appeals Board by the Council.

Members of the Board
The Appeals Board currently consists of the following members:

  • Justice (Rtd) Mrs Vida Akoto Bamfo, Retired Justice of the Supreme Court(President)
  •  Mr. Justin Agbeli Amenuvor, Private Legal Practitioner, GRM Law Consult (Member)
  •  Mrs. Yaa Onyameye Gyakobo, Private Legal Practitioner, Ansah-Obiri Legal Consult (Member)
  • Dr. Joseph Jojo Baidu-Forson, Retired Sub-Saharan Africa Regional Director for Bioversity International, IPGRI/Bioversity  (Member)
  •  Rev. Dr. Dora Bortey, Lecturer, Calvary Leadership Institute (Member)

Filing an Appeal
An appeal may be filed with the Appeals Board Secretariat using the form  (click here) contained in the Appeals Board Rules (click here).  The Notice of Appeal must be lodged in dupicate within 14 days of receipt of the decision complained of and addressed to:

Secretariat of the University of Ghana Appeals Board
Office of the Registrar
P. O. Box LG 25

University of Ghana, Legon  Email: . appealsboard@ug.edu.gh
Telephone: 0289555078/ 0303963147