Home | Contact Us | Employment Opportunities | Site Map | Enquiry       

Faculty of Science

 About Us
 The Dean
 Vision & Mission
 Courses Description
 Contact Us
 Back to Faculties
Quick Links
 Faculty of Science   About Us    Overview
pdf print preview send to friend

About The Faculty

The Faculty of Science at the University of Ghana is one of the oldest faculties established within the University. It is one of the major academic units into which the University is organized. Its mandate is to provide quality science education through teaching, research and dissemination of research findings. Currently, the Faculty is consist of eleven Departments (Animal Biology and Conservation Science; Biochemistry, Cell, and Molecular Biology; Botany; Chemistry; Computer Science; Earth Science; Mathematics; Nutrition and Food Science; Oceanography and Fisheries; Physics; and Statistics) and School of Nuclear and Allied Sciences.

The Faculty is the administrative base for the Institute of Environmental and Sanitation Studies, Ecological Research Centre, Volta Basin Research Project, and African Regional Postgraduate Programme for Insect Science (jointly with School of Agriculture).

The Faculty of Science is one of the largest science faculties in Ghana with a total student enrolment of approximately 3,400. The eleven departments and one school offer a wide and diverse range of disciplines in both undergraduate and postgraduate courses. Departments from other University of Ghana faculties contribute to science teaching at all levels, allowing students to choose their studies from physical, biological, earth, nuclear, behavioural, environmental, mathematical and computer sciences.


Related Articles

                          University of Ghana | © 2006 - 2008 All Rights Reserved | Privacy Policy | Powered by: Con-Imedia